Skip to Content

Non-government schools

Non-government school education in Western Australia falls into two categories, Catholic schools and Independent schools.

Catholic schools

Most Catholic schools in Western Australia belong to the Catholic education system which operates under an agreement between the Minister and the Catholic Education Commission of WA (CECWA). The Catholic Education Office of WA is the executive arm of the CECWA.

Enquiries about Catholic schools should be directed to the school itself or the Catholic Education Office of WA.

Independent schools

Independent schools are private, self-administered organisations, the majority of which are incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1987. Many provide a religious or values-based education, while others promote an educational philosophy.

Independent schools are located in a wide range of communities, including some of Western Australia's most remote Aboriginal communities.

The Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia (AISWA) represents and promotes the interests of Independent schools.

If you have any enquiries about Independent schools please contact the Independent non-government school itself or AISWA.