Skip to Content

Term dates

Schools should be contacted directly for advice on school development days and term dates.

Dates for primary and secondary students in public schools in Western Australia (all dates are inclusive).

2018 Term dates

Semester 1
Term 1 Wed 31 January - Fri 13 April
Break Sat 14 April - Sun 29 April
Term 2 Mon 30 April - Fri 29 June
Break Sat 30 June - Sun 15 July
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 16 July - Fri 21 September
Break Sat 22 September - Sun 7 October
Term 4 Mon 8 October - Thu 13 December
     

2018 Term dates

Semester 1
Term 1 Mon 29 January - Fri 13 April
Break Sat 14 April - Sun 29 April
Term 2 Mon 30 April - Fri 29 June
Break Sat 30 June - Sun 15 July
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 16 July - Fri 21 September
Break Sat 22 September - Sun 7 October
Term 4 Mon 8 October - Fri 14 December
   
Please note
  • A Department term dates calendar for 2018 can not be provided as each public school develops its own calendar.
  • Easter occurs during Term 1.  Schools will be closed on Friday 30 March 2018, Monday 2 April 2018 and Tuesday 3 April 2018. Some regional schools may substitute another day in lieu of Easter Tuesday. Please check with your principal.
  • Please contact your school directly for more information about its specific dates, including school development days (student free).
  • Students start the school year on Wednesday 31 January 2018 and end the school year on Thursday 13 December 2018.
  • There are six school development days where students do not attend:
    • Two of these days are before the school year starts for students and one day is after the school year ends for students.
    • Each school schedules another three days throughout the year in consultation with its school council/board and school community.
  • Independent Public Schools have the flexibility to trade-off school development days (except Monday 29 January and Tuesday 30 January). All other schools have the flexibility to trade-off the last school development day of the school year (Friday 14 December). Teachers should confirm arrangements for their school development days with the school.
  • For staff, details of staff start and end year dates by occupational group are on the intranet.