Future leaders appointed

Asset Publisher

13 December 2023

Public school life

Secondary school students from across WA will have the chance to share their views and inform education policy after being appointed to the WA Student Council.

The passionate students, who will replace departing members, join the council to represent the interests of their peers.

After an extensive selection process, members were chosen for their outstanding leadership, dedication, intellectual and cultural diversity, and passion for making a positive impact within their school communities.

Some of their tasks as student councillors will include attending meetings with the WA Education Minister, liaising with schools and students in their regions, attending student leadership activities and providing feedback to the Department of Education on various initiatives.

East Kimberley College student Clare Davey, who was appointed to the council, said she was looking forward to representing her remote region.

"I am really looking forward to meeting new people and working together to contribute to West Australian schools,” she said.

"One of the things I wish to advocate for is to improve mental health and student wellbeing in remote areas, helping students enjoy school."

Coodanup College student Shelby Hine said she wanted to advocate for student health, safety, and wellbeing.

“My aim is to help students enjoy going to school and to feel safe,” she said.

“I look forward to working with other young leaders in the state to improve other students’ educational experience and bringing my ideas to the council to benefit schools across Western Australia.”

New WA Student Council members:

Kale Guthrie, Tom Price Senior High School

Nevaeh Williamson, Newman Senior High School

Clare Davey, East Kimberley College

Anna Smith, Central Midlands Senior High School

Hannah Jones, Northam Senior High School

Jannayah Clinch, Gascoyne Junction Remote Community School

Paeton Jackamarra, Mullewa District High School

Isabella Wilson, Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School

Kiara Lee-Pullen, Margaret River Senior High School

Billy Watkins, Cape Naturaliste College

Harry Smith, Alkimos College

Shiau Wei Chu, Christmas Island District High School

Lucas White, West Coast Secondary Education Support Centre

Ella Colbung, Cannington Community College

Shelby Hine, Coodanup College

Freya Lumb, Melville Senior High School