Excelling in education: finalists announced for Women of Achievement Award

Asset Publisher

16 February 2024

Reward and recognition

Five finalists have been announced for the Director General’s Women of Achievement Award, who all support education in WA in their own way.

Wananami Remote Community School's Deborah Donation, John Curtin College of the Arts' Donna Buckley, Patricia Konigsberg, from Quality Teaching at Statewide Services, Director of Education Sue Cuneo and Dr Antoinette Morris, from North Lake Senior Campus, have been recognised for their significant contribution to public education in WA.

The winner will be announced at the Department’s International Women’s Day breakfast, on Monday 18 March 2024.

Finalists from left to right: Dr Antoinette Morris, Deborah Donation, Donna Buckley, Patricia Konigsberg and Sue Cuneo.

Dr Antoinette Morris
Program Coordinator

North Lake Senior Campus

Antoinette was nominated for her leadership and drive to achieve stronger academic outcomes for disengaged students across public education.

She is the coordinator of Fremantle Fast Track, an off-site campus for at-risk young people that has specialist courses aimed at making students’ return to learning empowering and engaging.

Find out more about Dr Morris and why she was nominated.

Deborah Donation
Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer

Wananami Remote Community School

Deborah strives to ensure students receive world class education while remaining on Ngarinyin Country, which includes learning from Ngarinyin Elders.

At Wananami Remote Community School, Deborah integrates opportunities for on-Country learning within the school setting and incorporates local Indigenous knowledge to enhance the learning of student in meaningful ways.

Deborah is passionate about the students at the school and provides incredible opportunities for cultural awareness and truth telling.

Find out more about Deborah and why she was nominated.

Donna Buckley

John Curtin College of the Arts

Using innovative teaching methods, Donna creates meaningful and lasting impacts on students, staff and the wider community.

Donna actively engages with students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

As part of her role as assistant director of mathematics and VET cybersecurity teacher, Donna fosters an appreciation for real-world problems using a mathematics approach.

Find out more about Donna and why she was nominated.

Patricia Konigsberg
Principal Consultant

Quality Teaching

Patricia has worked across the state, engaging with thousands of teachers, school leaders, Aboriginal and Islander Education Officers, and communities to bring cultural responsiveness to the forefront of education.

She is passionate about supporting the teaching of Aboriginal students, whose first language is Aboriginal English, and advocates to make curriculum more linguistic and culturally-inclusive for students.

She works to make Aboriginal English an acknowledged and central part of Australian culture.

Find out more about Patricia and why she was nominated.

Sue Cuneo
Director of Education

South West Regional Education Office

Sue was recognised for her strength in leadership and professional responsibility.

Proactively leading and supporting schools in the region, she ensures they are equipped to deliver the best outcomes for their students.

She creates positive connections and effective collaborative networks of schools that have a focus on student improvement and achievements.

Find out more about Sue and why she was nominated.

Tickets are currently sold out for this event. To be added to the waiting list, select 'Get tickets' and then 'Join waitlist'.

For any enquiries, email paul.fletcher@education.wa.edu.au.