Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE)

Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE)


The Western Australian Certificate of Education (WACE) is a senior certificate recognised nationally in the Australian Qualifications Framework. The WACE is awarded to students who have successfully completed two years of senior secondary schooling and have achieved the required standard. The WACE is recognised by universities, industry and other training providers.

All students receive a Western Australian Statement of Student Achievement (WASSA) when they complete Year 12. The WASSA formally records a student’s achievement in every course, qualification and program completed in senior secondary schooling.

WACE requirements

To achieve a WACE students must:

  1. Complete one of three course combination options:
    • at least four Year 12 ATAR courses, or
    • at least five Year 12 general courses and/or ATAR courses,
    • complete a Certificate II or higher VET qualification in combination with ATAR, general or foundation courses.
  2. Demonstrate the literacy and numeracy standard.
  3. Meet the requirements for breadth and depth of study.
  4. Meet the achievement standard.
WACE study options

Students are offered three study options which they can mix and match:

  • WACE courses, including ATAR, General, Foundation and VET industry specific
  • VET programs
  • endorsed programs.
Literacy and numeracy standard requirements

Students must demonstrate minimum standards of literacy and numeracy by either:

  • achieving Band 8 or higher in reading, writing and/or numeracy components of the Year 9 NAPLAN, or
  • successfully completing the Online Literacy and Numeracy Assessments (OLNA).
Breadth and depth requirements

Students must complete a minimum of 20 units in senior schooling, including:

  • a minimum of ten Year 12 units, or the equivalent drawn from a limited number of VET qualifications and endorsed programs
  • four units from an English learning area course, post Year 10, including at least one pair of Year 12 units from an English learning area course
  • one pair of Year 12 units from List A (arts, languages, social sciences) and
  • one pair of Year 12 units from List B (mathematics, science, technology).
Achievement standard requirements

Students must achieve at least 14 ‘C’ grades or equivalents in Year 11 and Year 12 units, including at least 6 ‘C’ grades or equivalents in Year 12 units.

Xuất bản thông tin

Career conversation events

Career conversation events

Talk to your child about their pathways and opportunities.

view all events