WA Education Awards

Join us in celebrating our outstanding staff and schools at the presentation event on Monday 28 October.

Buy tickets

WA Education Awards

Because of our outstanding teachers, principals and school support staff, students in Western Australia are provided with a high quality education – whatever their ability, wherever they live, whatever their background.

Coming from different backgrounds themselves, our staff bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to schools and classrooms. They are leaders in educational innovation and reform. Because they see the potential in every child, their priority is to enrich student learning and inspire students to achieve to the best of their ability.

Get your tickets to the WA Education Awards 2019 Presentation Event on Monday 28 October.

Congratulations to the WA Education Awards 2019 finalists!

WA Premier's Primary Teacher of the Year
Presented by BHP

Veronica Akse, Treendale Primary School
Renee Knapp, Boyup Brook District High School
Jonathan Petch, Wattle Grove Primary School
Michael Webb, Rosalie Primary School

WA Premier's Secondary Teacher of the Year
Presented by BHP

Jeremy Caspersz, Warwick Senior High School
Jane Ganfield, Dongara District High School
Mike Gowland, Fremantle College
Tam Sheldon, Baldivis Secondary College

WA Premier’s Excellence in Aboriginal Education Award
Presented by BHP

Baynton West Primary School
Cable Beach Primary School
Wananami Remote Community School
Yule Brook College

WA Beginning Teacher of the Year
Presented by Edith Cowan University

Dion Alfonsi, Shenton College
Kieron Alford, Belmont City College
Tasmin Drummond, Vasse Primary School
Julie Hughes, Ashdale Secondary College

WA Education Assistant of the Year
Presented by Beilby Downing Teal

Kym Coulthard, Waggrakine Primary School
Roslyn Price, Dianella Primary College
Cassandra Wilson, Dawul Remote Community School
Annjanette Wisby, Wattle Grove Primary School

WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year
Presented by Kinetic IT

Daniella Borg, Governor Stirling Senior High School
Gwen Gray, Busselton Senior High School
Lois Little, Newton Moore Senior High School
Jade Muli, Warwick Senior High School

WA School Services Staff Member of the Year
Presented by Modis

Christine Dullard, Shenton College Deaf Education Centre
Merilyn Harvey, Kent Street Senior High School
Julie Hawke, Esperance Senior High School
Joshua Inwood, Yule Brook College

WA Primary School of the Year
Presented by Teachers Health

Caladenia Primary School
Dawson Park Primary School
Kalgoorlie Primary School
Thornlie Primary School

WA Secondary School of the Year
Presented by Community News

Bunbury Senior High School
Exmouth District High School
Melville Senior High School
Newton Moore Education Support Centre

WA Primary Principal of the Year
Presented by Fotoworks

Emma Bancroft, Balingup Primary School
Dean Finlay, Ocean Road Primary School
Lisa Ledger, Baynton West Primary School
Lee Woodcock, Thornlie Primary School

WA Secondary Principal of the Year
Presented by Teachers Mutual Bank

Dainon Couzic, Busselton Senior High School
Mark Gillett, Cape Naturaliste College
Keith Svendsen, Baldivis Secondary College
Phillip White, Melville Senior High School

Awards winners will be announced Monday, 28 October 2019.