Languages open the world to your children. With languages they improve their communication, understand other cultures and expand their career opportunities.

Languages are taught in all public schools in Western Australia. Every student in Years 3 to 6 learn a language. This will be extended to Year 8 students by 2023. Students will then have the option to continue studying a language in Years 10 to 12.

No matter where you live, learning a language is possible and has many benefits for now and the future.

Languages being taught

A variety of languages are taught in Western Australia, including the following seven languages:

  • Aboriginal (24 languages)
  • Chinese
  • French
  • German
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese.

For more information about the language taught at your children’s school, contact your principal.