Aboriginal Advisory Body

Aboriginal Advisory Body

Our Aboriginal Advisory Body will help us create a culturally-responsive education system to support the wellbeing, engagement and achievement of Aboriginal students in public schools.

The external advisory body will play an important role in our progress towards reconciliation. Its members will guide us to work in ways that value the knowledge, expertise and experiences of Aboriginal people. They will support us to create learning environments where Aboriginal students’ cultural identity, wellbeing and engagement are at the centre of their learning experience.

Latoya Bolton-Black

Latoya is a proud Noongar and Yamatji woman with more than 18 years of experience in government and non-government sectors, particularly in education and community development. She is the operations manager of Glass Jar Australia.

Daniella Borg

Daniella is a proud Noongar woman with ties to the Ballardong and Whadjuk peoples. She has more than 20 years of experience in education. She received an Edith Cowan University Vice-Chancellor’s Award while completing her social science degree. She is an academic coordinator for the CSIRO Young Indigenous Women's STEM Academy.


Tyronne Garstone

Tyronne is a Bardi man and the chief executive officer of the Kimberley Land Council. He has board experience in Aboriginal business and employment, community empowerment, health, media and the environment.



Regina (Gina) Hill

Gina is a proud Wilman Noongar woman. She is the executive director of Aboriginal Justice Transformation at the Department of Justice. Gina’s extensive career spans more than 30 years in senior leadership and executive roles in the public and private sectors in Western Australia and Queensland.


Shannon McNeair

Shannon is a Malgana woman and director of McNeair Aboriginal Psychological Services. Her career as a psychologist includes more than 15 years of experience providing psychological services to children and families, including with the Department of Health and the Department of Communities.


Tamara Murdock

Tamara is a Noongar woman and the deputy chief executive officer and head of strategy at the Aurora Education Foundation. Tamara has worked with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and government organisations in the environment, health, education and native title sectors.



Anthony (Tony) Lee

Tony is a Yawuru wamba with Japanese heritage. He has nearly 50 years of experience in Aboriginal community-controlled organisations and across the public sector, including work in the areas of education, training, native title and Indigenous business. Tony is the deputy chairperson of Nyamba Buru Yawuru, the chair of Yawuru Holdings Company and a chairperson of Magabala Books.

Stephen (Bart) Pigram

Bart is a Yawuru man and the owner-operator of Narlijia Experiences. He delivers on-country learning activities for locals and visitors. He recently worked with the Department as a consultant for the Two-way Science Program. A former cultural development project officer at Nyamba Buru Yawuru, he has been involved in several successful cultural and heritage projects.


Dylan Collard

Dylan is a Wadjak and Balardong Noongar man. He is a former teacher, including at Balga Senior High School where he completed a Master of Teaching degree through Teach for Australia. He has been focused on teaching Noongar language ever since. He now runs programs for communities, schools and other organisations. He won the NAIDOC Perth 2023 Education Award in recognition of his work in education.




Related documents
Contact us

For more information about the Aboriginal Advisory Body, email Aboriginal.Advisory.Body@education.wa.edu.au.

The term ‘Aboriginal’ respectfully refers to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.