Teacher and students shine at film festival

Teacher and students shine at film festival

02 November 2023

Reward and recognition

Academy Award winning filmmakers in the near future may be thanking a South West media teacher for her support along the way.

That media teacher is Kellie Markwell, from Cape Naturaliste College, who was awarded the 2023 Cinesnaps Champion Teacher award at the CinefestOz Film Festival.

Kellie was recognised for her commitment to mentoring young filmmakers in the South West region over the past 10 years. 

Cape Naturaliste College media students Aysiah, Jordan, Neil and Dieter.

“I felt very proud that I was able to share with the wider community that teaching is a gift and that it is a privilege to work with young people on a daily basis in a creative field to further their understanding of the media industry, but also to share in their sense of achievement and accomplishment,” she said. 

“It is a delight to see students bursting with pride when they see their productions on the big screen being viewed by their peers, their teachers, and their families.” 

Kellie’s Cape Naturaliste media students, Aysiah Uren, Jordan Lay, Neil Davenport and Dieter Spurgeon, were also recognised as runners-up in the Cinesnaps Short Film Competition. Their film based on this year’s theme ‘The Switch’, is a sci-fi thriller about a secret agency planting chips to switch people’s identities.

First place went to  Joshua Yates and Seth Weadley from Margaret River Senior Highschool with their film, about a high school physics teacher who finds a contraption that lets him switch places with anyone in the world.

The annual Cinesnaps Short Film Competition encourages young, aspiring regional filmmakers, YouTubers and vloggers to create and showcase original short films of 3-5 minutes.

Open to two age categories, all secondary students in the South West, Great Southern, Geraldton and Broome are invited to enter.

A $1000 cash prize is presented to a year 10-12 category, with other prizes for students in years 7-9.

For more information about the Awards visit the Schools Short Film Competition CinefestOZ website.