Outstanding women recognised

Outstanding women recognised

22 February 2023

Reward and recognition

Five female finalists who have made outstanding contributions to education have been named in the Department of Education’s Women of Achievement Award.

The Women of Achievement Award celebrates quality leadership and excellence in education and coincides with International Women’s Day which is marked globally on 8 March.

Each finalist has had a significant impact on public education in Western Australia throughout their career.

The winner will be announced at an International Women’s Day breakfast on Wednesday 8 March 2023.

Philippa Beamish Burton, Lee Musumeci, Julie Campbell, Ann Lord and Deborah Taylor are finalists in the Women of Achievement Award.

Philippa Beamish Burton, Executive Director, Finance and Commercial Services
Pippa is dedicated to achieving better funding outcomes for students across public education in her role.

She upholds the highest standards of ethics and integrity and is well respected for her leadership.

Pippa has been recognised for generously sharing her knowledge and time to go above and beyond. She is highly regarded across the public sector for her financial expertise and her ability to get things done.

Most recently, Pippa was involved in the Attraction and Retention Initiative Payment which helped ensure there was a teacher in front of every classroom in remote schools.

We spoke to Pippa about her nomination for this award. Check out the video on our Facebook.
Lee Musumeci, Principal, Challis Community Primary School
Lee is fiercely determined to provide opportunities for students to thrive.

Lee has developed partnerships resulting in innovative programs that are making a difference and enriching the lives of students, their families and the broader community.

Lee has been a champion for children with disability and those who come from disadvantaged backgrounds and has been committed to levelling the playing field for these children to make their futures more equitable.

We spoke to Lee about her nomination for this award. Check out the video on our Facebook
Julie Campbell, Principal, Champion Bay Senior High School
Julie was nominated for being an inspiring leader who has built strong and positive relationships with staff, students, parents and the wider community.

She has led Champion Bay Senior High School through successful change during her time there, including the transition from a lower high school to a full senior high school.

Julie works to ensure her school provides a safe, caring and inclusive culture that is focussed on continued improvement. Her compassion and empathy for those around her is evident in all she does. She is an outstanding role model who leads by example and has built a culture of excellence at her school.

We spoke to Julie about her nomination for this award. Check out the video on our Facebook
Ann Lord, School Psychologist Consultant, Statewide Services
Ann is committed to ensuring there are quality psychologists in schools to support students. She works closely with other teams in the Department to achieve this and has successfully built positive relationships along the way.  Ann’s leadership and exceptional personal commitment have been integral to this success.

Ann has also created strong partnerships with local university psychology programs which have guided course development, student selection and influenced both the calibre and supply of school psychologists.

We spoke to Ann about her nomination for this award. Check out the video on our Facebook.
Deborah Taylor, Principal, Cloverdale Education Support Centre
Debi was nominated for being a transformational, inspiring and ethical leader. She is known for finding successful solutions and is highly skilled at bringing people together to achieve great outcomes.

As well as being the principal at Cloverdale Education Support Centre, she is the president of the Western Australian Education Support Principals and Administrators Association.

Debi is also passionate about supporting new education support teachers and has created partnerships with universities and developed pre-service programs.

We spoke to Debi about her nomination for this award. Check out the video on our Facebook