National award for outstanding teachers

National award for outstanding teachers

15 September 2023

In the news Reward and recognition

Three West Australian teachers have been recognised nationally for their innovation and unwavering commitment to their students’ education.

Mount Tarcoola Primary School teacher Jade Foster has been awarded a 12-month Teaching Fellowship, while South Hedland Primary School teacher Nadine Stapleton and Byford Secondary College teacher Lauren Warschauer were named Early Career Teaching Award winners in the 2023 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards.

Run in partnership with Schools Plus, the national awards recognise teachers for their ingenuity, compassion and commitment to education.

WA winners of the 2023 Commonwealth Bank Teaching Awards.

Ms Foster, who is also an instructional coach at Mount Tarcoola Primary School, was awarded the fellowship for implementing teaching strategies that ensure students reach their potential.

She attended 100 hours of training to upskill herself on evidence-based teaching strategies before sharing resources with other teachers.

“Teaching is not just a profession for me; it's my passion. To be recognised for my dedication in improving outcomes for students, as well as generously sharing my knowledge with fellow educators is truly heart-warming and fills me with an overwhelming sense of appreciation and pride,” Ms Foster said.

Ms Stapleton was recognised for creating multiple initiatives to enable her students at South Hedland Primary School to feel more confident communicating, and to give families a stronger sense of belonging.

Ms Stapleton said she was honoured to receive the award.

“I will forever be grateful to my students, my families, and my school for supporting me in this big step in my teaching journey,” she said.

“They have all invested so much in me, they have made me the teacher I am today.”

Ms Warschauer was awarded for her Engage program at Byford Secondary College.

Engage is an eight-week program where students participate in fitness activities, eat a healthy meal, learn how to cook, take part in volunteering activities, and hear from inspiring people in the community.

The aim of the program is to transform student health and a wellbeing and increase student engagement.

“I was ecstatic to win the award and honoured to be recognised amongst a group of exceptional teachers,” Ms Warschauer said.

“I am excited about the professional development opportunities that the scholarship will support me to pursue and enthusiastic to further enhance students' wellbeing in many schools, by supporting other schools to run their own Engage program.”