Curtin uni awards principal with honorary doctorate

Asset Publisher

08 March 2024

Reward and recognition Public school life

Lee Musumeci, Principal of Challis Community Primary School, has been awarded an honorary doctorate from Curtin University.  

Honorary doctorates are presented to people who have gone above and beyond in their field and made exceptional contribution to society. 

Ms Musumeci has been the principal of Armadale’s Challis Community Primary School for the past 19 years. During her time at the school, she has implemented a range of innovative programs to ensure the best possible results for her students.  

Lee Musumeci, Principal of Challis Community Primary School

She was key to implementing the child parent centre at the school to ensure children ages 0 to 4 years old were given opportunities to develop the key skills they need to successfully start primary school. This centre included a long-running partnership with Curtin University, including speech pathology, occupational therapy, physiotherapy and social work students undertake practical placements at the school.  

Ms Musumeci has also introduced community support initiatives, including a nationally awarded music program, an in-school Parent Employment Service and Aboriginal Girls Academy.  

Department of Education Director General Lisa Rodgers applauded the achievement.  

"For the past 19 years, as principal of Challis Community Primary School, Lee has worked with expertise and dedication to provide the best opportunities for children," Ms Rodgers told the Armadale Examiner. 

"I commend her leadership in the development of high impact teaching across the school and for generations, and for supporting families in building educationally powerful relationships that set their children up for success.  

“With the best interests of children always at the forefront of her decisions, Lee continues to help improve their lives through education. Congratulations Lee." 

Ms Musumeci was also awarded the Department of Education Women of Achievement Award in 2023 for her outstanding dedication to helping her local community. 

She was also awarded a Public Service Medal in 2020, named a finalist in the Western Australian of the Year in 2019, was inducted to the WA Women’s Hall of Fame in 2019 and was Australian Primary Principal of the Year in 2011 

Today is International Women’s Day, when the Department would normally honour its Women of Achievement winner. 

The 2024 recipient will be celebrated this year at a special breakfast event on Monday 18 March. Find out about this year’s finalists.