WA Student Council

WA Student Council

The WA Student Council provides students with a voice to help shape the future of public education in Western Australia.

The WA Student Council has been established to provide public students with a platform to influence education policy. The inaugural council commenced in September 2022, and each year it is made up of Year 10 and 11 public school students represented from across Western Australia.

The role of the WA Student Council

The student council’s role is to:

  • advise the Department of Education and the Minister for Education and Training on education policy and reform
  • represent the interest of their educational regions
  • represent the interests of all students in WA
  • act as ambassadors for WA student leadership.

Council activities will include:

  • attending Ministerial meetings
  • attending regular online council meetings
  • liaising with school students and staff in their region
  • attending student leadership activities, which includes training, events and a camp
  • providing feedback on Department of Education initiatives.

There are 25 student councillors appointed to the 2023–24 council.

Region Student name and nominating school
  • Abel Cole, Newman Senior High School
  • Elise Murray, Karratha Senior High School
  • Caden Moore, Derby District High School
  • Isabel Dunster, Broome Senior High School
  • Lucy Adams, Broome Senior High School
  • Skye Councillor, Derby District High School
  • Jessica Holberton, Dowerin High School
  • Kele Readhead, Narrogin Senior High School (now Perth Modern)
  • Madison Matthews, Lake Grace District High School
  • Terehia Potaka-Osborne, Katanning Senior High School
  • Isabella Mitchell, Champion Bay Senior High School
  • Peta Humphreys, Morawa District High School

  • Emilee Stewart, Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School
  • Kasey Gordon, Ravensthorpe District High School
  • Mia Freeman, Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School
South West
  • Kiya Bedford-Gray, Newton Moore Senior High School
  • Rowan Asplin, Bridgetown High School
  • Tessa Rowell, Cape Naturaliste College
North Metropolitan
  • Charlie MacPherson-Lee, Balcatta Senior High School
  • Samson Bartlett, West Coast Secondary Education Support Centre
  • Shela Jarwee, Girrawheen Senior High School
South Metropolitan
  • Darshyn Mannar, Applecross Senior High School
  • Katie Russell, Southern River College
  • Oscar Cuffe-Cain, Leeming Senior High School Education Support Centre
  • Owen King, Coastal Lakes College