WA Education Awards

Congratulations to our outstanding finalists who are shaping the future through their inspiring work in our schools.

WA Education Awards

Congratulations to the finalists of the WA Education Awards 2021!

These outstanding teachers, leaders, school services staff and schools shape the future through the opportunities they provide for students to reach their potential. Our finalists play an inspiring role in our schools through their dedication, innovation and talent.

Winners will be announced at the WA Education Awards presentation breakfast at Optus Stadium in Term 4. Tickets for the event will be available for purchase soon.


WA Premier's Primary Teacher of the Year
  • Alvin Leo, Safety Bay Primary School
  • Emma Smith, Allendale Primary School
  • Kristyn Oldfield, Aspiri Primary School
  • Roseanne Paine, Sheoak Grove Primary School
WA Premier's Secondary Teacher of the Year
  • Catherine MacDougall, Cyril Jackson Senior Campus
  • Charan Pabla, Girrawheen Senior High School
  • Claire Burton, Shenton College
  • Jennifer Currie, Lynwood Senior High School
WA Premier's Excellence in Aboriginal Education Award
  • Baynton West Primary School
  • Beachlands Primary School
  • Dawul Remote Community School
  • Mount Lawley Senior High School
WA Beginning Teacher of the Year
  • Anika Brown, Halls Creek District High School
  • Kaili-Skye Beeson, Kalgoorlie Primary School
  • Louise Legerstee, Oakwood Primary School
  • Samantha Tohl, Dawul Remote Community School
WA Education Assistant of the Year
  • Donelle Wilson, East Hamersley Primary School
  • Fiona Hopkins, Waggrakine Primary School
  • Karen Crummer, Willandra Primary School
  • Michelle Barrett, Byford Secondary College
WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year
  • Basil Kickett, Narrogin Primary School
  • Michael Merrison, Dawul Remote Community School
  • Tamara Slamar, Banksia Grove Primary School
  • William Dick, Northam Senior High School
WA School Services Staff Member of the Year
  • Jessica Dreaver, North East Metropolitan Language Development Centre
  • Madison Corsini, Western Australian College of Agriculture - Cunderdin
  • Terri Te Kani, Merredin College
  • Varina Earle, Canning Vale College
WA Primary School of the Year
  • Baynton West Primary School
  • Burrendah Primary School
  • Joondalup Education Support Centre
  • Koondoola Primary School
WA Secondary School of the Year
  • Ashdale Secondary College
  • Canning Vale College
  • Girrawheen Senior High School
  • Mount Lawley Senior High School
WA Primary Principal of the Year
  • Louise O’Donovan, Beeliar Primary School
  • Lynne Bates, Campbell Primary School
  • Melanie Sutherland, Northampton District High School
  • Narelle Ward, Cassia Primary School
WA Secondary Principal of the Year
  • Lesley Street, Mount Lawley Senior High School
  • Mike Morgan, Shenton College
  • Mitchell MacKay, John Curtin College of the Arts
  • Sue Gilchrist, Morley Senior High School
WA Primary Deputy Principal of the Year
  • Alison Freeman, Geographe Primary School
  • Jennifer Graham, Glendale Primary School
  • Mandi Ostaszewskyj, Waggrakine Primary School
  • Niquolei Lyons, Harrisdale Primary School
WA Secondary Deputy Principal of the Year
  • Christopher Hill, Shenton College
  • Grant Richards, Woodvale Secondary College
  • Kacey Single, Ridge View Secondary College
  • Rob Nail, Cape Naturaliste College
Key dates
Nominations close 5.00pm, Wednesday 21 July 2021
Judging Monday 9 August to Friday 20 August 2021
Finalists announced Tuesday 31 August 2021
Judges site visits Monday 6 September to Friday 17 September 2021
Finalists' networking event Term 4 2021
Presentation breakfast Term 4 2021