The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9.

NAPLAN tests literacy and numeracy skills that are essential for every child to progress through school and life. Teachers can use the test results to tailor each child’s education more effectively.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in the 4 areas of:

  • reading
  • writing
  • conventions of language (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • numeracy.

NAPLAN will be conducted in Term 1.

Find information about NAPLAN tests and benefits, and examples of the tests and types of questions on the National Assessment Program website.

You can also refer to the School Curriculum Standards Authority website for information on NAPLAN testing, including information for parents.