Skip to Content

Public sector changes

The State Government has implemented changes to government agencies to increase collaboration across departments, deliver services more efficiently and focus on whole of government objectives.

As a result, the newly formed Department of Education commenced on 1 July 2017 with responsibility for government and non-government education services.  It brings together the operations of the Department of Education, Department of Education Services, and School Curriculum and Standards Authority.  All staff of the three agencies are now employees of the Department of Education. 

The School Curriculum and Standards Authority continues as a statutory authority under the School Curriculum and Standards Authority Act 1997.  The Teacher Registration Board of Western Australia and Training Accreditation Council continue as statutory entities. 

All contact and address details for the three agencies are unchanged. 

In a separate change, the Country High School Hostels Authority ceased on 30 June 2017 and the Department of Education assumed responsibility for residential colleges from 1 July 2017. 

These changes provide more opportunities for coordination, cross-sectoral collaboration and reform to further strengthen the education outcomes for all students and education performance of all schools in Western Australia.

Premier’s media statement - Major changes introduced to create a more efficient public sector