Skip to Content

Term dates

Schools should be contacted directly for advice on school development days and term dates.

Dates gazetted for primary and secondary students in public schools in Western Australia (all dates are inclusive). All students will start their first day of the 2017 school year on Wednesday 1 February 2017.

The dates below do not include school development days (student free). Schools will schedule 3 days where students do not attend.

2017 term dates

Semester 1
Term 1 Wed 1 February - Fri 7 April
Break Sat 8 April - Sun 23 April
Term 2 Mon 24 April - Fri 30 June
Break Sat 1 July - Sun 16 July
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 17 July - Fri 22 September
Break Sat 23 September - Sun 8 October
Term 4 Mon 9 October - Thu 14 December
     

2017 term dates

Semester 1
Term 1 Mon 30 January – Fri 7 April
Break Sat 8 April - Sun 23 April
Term 2 Mon 24 April - Fri 30 June
Break Sat 1 July - Sun 16 July
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 17 July - Fri 22 September
Break Sat 23 September - Sun 8 October
Term 4 Mon 9 October – Fri 15 December
     

Please note

  • A Department term dates calendar for 2017 can not be provided as each public school develops its own calendar.
  • Easter occurs during the Term 1 and 2 break.
  • Please contact your school directly for more information about its specific dates, including school development days (student free).
  • Students start the school year on Wednesday 1 February and end the school year on Thursday 14 December.
  • There are six school development days where students do not attend:
    • Two of these days are before the school year starts for students and one day is after the school year ends for students.
    • Each school schedules another three days throughout the year in consultation with its school council/board and school community.
  • Independent Public Schools have the flexibility to trade-off school development days (except Monday 30 January and Tuesday 31 January). All other schools have the flexibility to trade-off the last school development day of the school year (Friday 15 December). Teachers should confirm arrangements for their school development days with the school.
  • For staff, details of start and end year dates by occupational group are on the intranet.

Future term dates