WA Premier's Secondary Teacher of the Year

WA Premier's Secondary Teacher of the Year

This award recognises secondary school teachers who are a source of inspiration to their students.

They know their content and how to teach it, and provide a dependable and consistent influence as their students make choices about further education, work and life.

The award category is for qualified secondary school teachers working in our schools with a significant proportion of the week dedicated to classroom teaching.

This award is proudly sponsored by BHP.


The WA Premier’s Secondary Teacher of the Year receives $25 000 (50% for professional development and 50% cash) and three finalists each receive $2500. See terms and conditions for more information.

Selection criteria

Nominations must address each of the three selection criteria:

  • professional knowledge
  • professional practice
  • professional engagement.

The selection criteria is based on the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers.


In addition to the terms and conditions, the following eligibility criteria apply for this category:

All professionally qualified teachers currently teaching in a Western Australian public secondary school, with at least 0.6 FTE dedicated to classroom teaching at the time of nomination, are eligible.

Teachers at middle schools and district high schools can be nominated in either primary or secondary. This may be based on whether the majority of students they are teaching are in Year 7 upwards or Year 6 and below.

Prepare your nomination