WA Premier's Primary Teacher of the Year

WA Premier's Primary Teacher of the Year

This award recognises primary school teachers who are knowledgeable, caring and creative – and passionate about inspiring younger students to want to learn.

They encourage respect in the classroom, know their students and how they learn, and engage in professional learning.

The award category is for qualified early childhood and primary school teachers working in our schools with a significant proportion of the week dedicated to classroom teaching.

This award is proudly sponsored by BHP.


The WA Premier’s Primary Teacher of the Year receives $25 000 (50% for professional development and 50% cash) and three finalists each receive $2500. See terms and conditions for more information.

Selection criteria

Nominations must address each of the three selection criteria, based on the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers:

  • professional knowledge
  • professional practice
  • professional engagement.


In addition to the terms and conditions, the following eligibility criteria apply for this category:

All professionally qualified early childhood and primary teachers currently teaching in a Western Australian public primary school, with at least 0.6 FTE dedicated to classroom teaching at the time of nomination, are eligible.

Teachers at middle schools and district high schools can be nominated in either primary or secondary. This may be based on whether the majority of students they are teaching are in Year 7 upwards or Year 6 and below.

Prepare your nomination