DETECT school study

DETECT school study

Seventy-nine public schools, support centres and residential colleges from across Western Australia are participating in the DETECT study.

The study is taking place for three to six months and includes three projects:

Project 1: Testing students and staff without symptoms. Every month a random sample of up to 150 staff and students from 40 schools are being tested for COVID-19.  The test is a throat and shallow nose swab that is done at school. Testing will provide evidence about the level of asymptomatic infection in schools.

Project 2: Tracking transmission in schools. If someone in the school tests positive, in addition to existing Public Health and Education responses, there will be more testing of people they are in close contact with. It will help the Government understand how COVID-19 spreads. 

Project 3: Wellbeing survey – staff, parents and students from Years 4 to 12 will complete online surveys about the impact of COVID-19 on the community’s physical, social and emotional wellbeing. All schools will participate in the survey.

Participation in testing and/or the survey is voluntary and consent is required from participants and parents.  All results are confidential and only used for public health purposes.

The 79 schools participating are:

Albany Residential College

Albany Senior High School

Anne Hamersley Primary School

Applecross Senior High School

Arbor Grove Primary

Ardross Primary School

Ashburton Drive Primary School

Atwell College

Balcatta Senior High School

Bateman Primary School

Baynton West Primary School

Beachlands Primary School

Belmont City College

Booragoon Primary School

Bridgetown Primary School

Broome Senior High School

Bungaree Primary School

Burbridge School

Butler College

Cape Naturaliste College

Carnarvon Community College

Castlereagh School

Challis Community Primary School

Churchlands Senior High School

City Beach Residential College

Clarkson Community High School

Collie Senior High School

Comet Bay College

Connolly Primary School

Cowaramup Primary School

Currambine Primary School

Dalyellup Primary School

Darling Range Sports College

Derby District High School

Dianella Secondary College

Durham Road School

Dwellingup Primary School

East Fremantle Primary School

East Manjimup Primary School

East Wanneroo Primary School

Ellenbrook Secondary College

Forrestfield Primary School

Geraldton Residential College

Gosnells Primary School

Governor Stirling Senior High School

Hampton Park Primary School

John Tonkin College

Joondalup Primary School

Joseph Banks Secondary College

Kalgoorlie Primary School

Kalgoorlie-Boulder Community High School

Leda Primary School

Lesmurdie Senior High School

Lynwood Senior High School

Malibu School

Merredin College

Middle Swan Primary School

Morley Senior High School

Mount Lawley Primary School

Narrogin Residential College

Newman Senior High School

Pinjarra Primary School

Poynter Primary School

Rockingham Senior High School

Roebuck Primary School

Roseworth Primary School

Safety Bay Senior High School

Shenton College

Tom Price Senior High School

Wanneroo Secondary College

Warnbro Primary School

Warwick Senior High School

West Morley Primary School

West Northam Primary School

Western Australian College Of Agriculture - Harvey

Western Australian College Of Agriculture - Narrogin

Willandra Primary School

Willetton Senior High School

Yakamia Primary School


Premier's Media Statement - 1 May 2020: Research study to track impact of COVID-19 in schools.